UL Grand Winners and Olympians to row over at HRR

Three UL crews are set to row over during the Friday Tea interval at Henley Royal Regatta this year, to mark 25 years since the ’92 Grand win and the club’s long & continued success at the Olympic Games.

The first crew to row over the course will be the 1992 Grand winning Eight, on the 25th anniversary of their victory. This crew defeated Ruder Klub Wannsee, Germany in the final, in a time of 6 minutes 4 seconds.

The next two crews will be made up of UL oarsmen and women, who have all represented the club at the Olympic Games, stretching from the 1960 Games in Rome up to last summer’s Olympics in Rio de Janerio.

The Women’s crew contains four of the Great Britain crew who won a fantastic Silver medal in Rio last summer. Lady Ann Redgrave, who the club named an Eight after last season, and Alex Beaver (2004 Olympics), are amongst those who join them. Stewart Farquharson, of the 1960 coxed pair and 1964 coxless pair, leads the Men’s crew. He is joined by Pat Wright, who was part of the UL Grand winning Eight from 1968, who were then selected to race as a crew at the Olympic Games. David Townsend (1976, 1980), Peter Beaumont (1988), Jim Walker (1992),  Pete Wells (2004), Cam Nichol (2008) and Gold medalist Richard Budgett (1984) complete the line-up.

The crews will be meeting in Bay Q of the Boat Tents from 3:40PM on Friday afternoon. 

Fran Houghton, Jess Eddie, Mel Wilson and Katie Greves – all part of the Silver medal winning GB Women’s Eight in Rio

No Comments

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.