UL HEAD NORTH – Leading universities to meet on River Tyne this weekend

UL, Durham, Edinburgh & Newcastle come together to race for the first time in the 2017/18 season, on the Tyne this Saturday in annual fixture.

Rutherford Head sees four of the UK’s leading university rowing programmes test themselves against each other, at this early point in the season. Four UL men’s eights and three UL women’s eights will travel north, racing on the course also used for BUCS Head, where the UL Women are back to back winners of Championship Eights.

The UL Fresher Eights are also making their debuts for the club, along with the large number of post-graduate joiners getting to race in Purple in eights for the first time, after the cancellation of the British Championships in October.

Racing begins at 10:30AM & 13:45AM.

Men’s 1st Eight

Rich Clarke (Birkbeck)
Max Townley (King’s)
Matt Benstead (King’s)
Chris Heywood (Birkbeck) 
Ben Freeman (UCL)
Rufus Scholefield (City)
Josh Kent (UCL)
Patrick Sullivan (UL)
Cox – Ian Middleton (King’s)

Women’s 1st Eight

Hannah Roberts (UCL)
Charlotte Hodgkins-Byrne (Royal Holloway)
Nicola Lawless (GY)
Issy Powell (Birkbeck)
Jordan Cole-Hossain (Goldsmiths)
Oonagh Cousins (UL)
Ally French (Birkbeck)
Georgia Statham (UCL)
Cox – Lauren Holland (SOAS)

Men’s 2nd Eight

Stu Pearce (Queen Mary)
Charlie Middleton (UCL)
Alex Fisher (Birkbeck)
James Ives (UL)
Josh Tolley (UCL)
Will Carey (Birkbeck)
Jaime San Miguel Navas (UCL)
Guy Screaton (King’s)
Cox – Matilda Horn (alumni)

Women’s 2nd Eight

Amber Pierce (Royal Holloway)
Jowita Miesakowska (LSE)
Rose Bernard (King’s)
Katherine Barnhill (LSE)
Catherine O’Leary (LSE)
Liv Rogerson (UCL)
Nuala Gannon (King’s)
Hattie Orr (UCL)
Cox – Lucy Jones (St. Georges)

Men’s 3rd Eight

Tom Bruce (UCL)
Thomas Howatt (Royal Holloway)
Toby Langstone (UCL)
Nick Garraway (SOAS)
Ed Surman (LSE)
Archie Hilder (King’s)
Alex Stevens (King’s)
Henk Kroon (King’s)
Cox – Louise Cox (Queen Mary)

Men’s Fresher Eight

George Hockey (Westminster School)
Ben Trotman (City of Bristol RC)
Rory Gilligan (Hampton School)
Neil Gibbons (Peterbough RC)
Sam Hamilton-Peach (St. Edward’s School)
Callum Perera (Clair’s Court School)
Austin Bernard (Shiplake College)
Tom Worthington (Hampton School)
Cox – Billy Smith

Women’s Fresher Eight

Alicia Redman (Henley Rowing Club)
Amelia Reddish (LEH School)
Leanna Beswick (Great Marlow School)
Thais Umbelino (Thames Rowing Club)
Sasha Dyke (Norwich Rowing Club)
Kesiah Roe (Mossbourne Academy)
Emily Lindburg (Godolphine & Latymer School)
Georgia Edwards (Henley Rowing Club)
Cox – Clara Drewes

No Comments

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.