Head of the River 2016 – REPORT

The University of London Boat Club Men’s 1st Eight produced another top ten finish at the Head Of The River, coming home 8th, a tenth of a second behind Leander II. The result put UL amongst the three fastest university crews, ahead of Newcastle University (13th), Edinburgh University (14th) and Durham University (23rd).

ULBC also selected a 2nd and 3rd Eight to race. The 2nd Eight produced a good result, for a crew containing five freshers (from King’s College, UCL and SOAS). They came 35th overall (and 2nd in the Halladay Trophy behind Durham University’s 1st Eight). A total of 19 crews from the University Of London raced, with many of the UL colleges racing.

Congratulations to Oxford Brookes University, the first all student crew to win the Head Of The River since 1963, when the University of London won with an all student crew, who later that year went on to win the Grand Challenge Cup at Henley Royal Regatta.

Away from the Tideway, this week the final Olympic Trial takes place, before seat-racing and then selection of the British team for the 2016 Rio Olympics. Nathaniel Reilly-O’Donnell, Paul Bennett, Ollie Cook, Frances Houghton and Emily Craig all race for the University of London. Coxswain Matilda Horn has also been invited to the trial.


The 1963 UL Men's 1st Eight who overall at HORR and the Grand at HRR

The 1963 UL Men’s 1st Eight who won overall at HORR and the Grand at HRR


No Comments

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.