ULBC races for the first time in 2016 at QUINTIN HEAD

After a successful winter training camp to Avis, Portugal, six University of London Boat Club crews will race for the first time in 2016 at Quintin Head this Saturday. The 4600 metre race forms part of the build in towards the Head Of The River and Women’s Head Of The River races in March.

The UL Men’s 1st Eight are racing in the Elite Category and start 3rd, looking for overall victory in the event. UL last took overall victory at Quintin Head in 2014. The Men’s 2nd Eight starts 7th and the Men’s 3rd Eight starts 13th. The UL Women’s 1st Eight is also entered into the Elite Category and is racing for victory against Oxford University Women. The UL Women’s 2nd Eight starts 83rd and the 3rd Eight 100th.

Besides the athletes selected to pull on the purple of the University Of London, many of the constituent UL colleges are also racing including UCL, the Royal Veterinary College, Queen Mary, King’s College London, RUMS, St. George’s and Barts, meaning nearly 150 University Of London students will race this weekend.

ULBC spent the end of the festive period on training camp in Avis, Portugal. The annual eight day camp at one of the world’s best rowing training venues provided stunning conditions and some warm weather to prepare for the upcoming Head Races through to March.

Men’s 1st Eight

James Richards (King’s)

Josh Kent (UCL)

Patrick Sullivan (UCL)

Patrick Boomer (King’s)

Max Townley (King’s)

Rich Clarke (Brunel)

Charlie Middleton (UCL)

Matt Bedford (UCL)

Cox: Beth Welch (UCL)

Women’s 1st Eight

Suzi Perry (BPP)

Nuala Gannon (King’s)

Lottie Bruce (King’s)

Claire Garnett (UCL)

Charlotte Hodgkins-Byrne (Royal Holloway)

Ally French (Birkbeck)

Ailish Sheehan (Goldsmiths)

Emily Wilks (Birkbeck)

Cox: Matilda Horn (St. Mary’s Alumnus)

Men’s 2nd Eight

Will Doran (UCL)

Toby Langstone (UCL)

Tim Wilkinson (Royal Holloway)

Charlie Lewis (SOAS)

Ed Surman (Birkbeck)

James Ives (UCL)

Ben Freeman (UCL)

Henk Kroon (King’s)

Cox: Lauren Holland (SOAS)

Women’s 2nd Eight

Sara Hegge (UCL)

Roxanna Colebatch (King’s)

Rachel Francis (King’s)

Catherine Ador (King’s)

Emma Reiser (Royal Holloway)

Georgia Statham (UCL)

Maud Moir (Queen Mary)

Bronwen Hulme (RVC)

Cox: Meg Neville (King’s)

Men’s 3rd Eight

Tom Bruce (UCL)

Guy Screaton (King’s)

Bryan Smart (King’s)

Peter Fisk (Goldsmiths)

Alex Steventon (Barts)

Kaan Belton (Brunel)

Stuart Pearce (Queen Mary)

Cameron Bullock (King’s)

Cox: Alex Davie (Barts)

Women’s 3rd Eight

Imogen De Trafford (Barts)

Katy Potter (UCL)

Emma Wright (St. George’s)

Kate Wagstaff (Royal Holloway)

Louise Blair (UCL)

Tamsin Howard (UCL)

Courtney Osborne-Walker (King’s)

Jade Wright (UCL)

Cox: Matthew Holland

No Comments

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.